Skip to Main Content

Tax Savings Program

Learn More About Arkansas Property Taxes ' H&R Block

No LongerApplications for the 2023 Tax Season

The deadline to submit an application was November 30, 2023

Currently our offices are open by appointment only. Applications can be mailed or dropped off in the document drop box located by the front entrance of the following offices:

Grayslake Office
33928 North U.S. Highway 45
Grayslake, IL 60030

Shiloh Towers
1525 27th Street
Zion, IL 60099

Click here for the application.

For a list of frequently asked questions (FAQs) please click here.

The Property Tax Code has been amended by the Illinois General Assembly and will continue to offer owners property tax savings until 2024. Properties located within a qualified Township and census tract that have a Housing Assistance Payment contract can save between $500 and $1,500 on property taxes.

To qualify for the program:

  • The property must be located in a qualified Township (Eligible townships as well as instructions will be listed page 3 of the application).
  • The property must be located within a census tract that has a poverty level below 10%, using the most recent Census data. 
  • The property was rented to and occupied by a tenant who was participating in the Voucher program as of January 1st of the tax year for which the application is made.
  • The unit passed the most recent Housing Quality Standards inspection and is in compliance with local building codes.
  • The Landlord does not owe the Housing Authority any money.
  • The property has not received an abatement for more than 10 tax years.
  • The owner has completed a Tax Savings application form and submitted the $50 fee.
    • Money order & cashier's check are the only forms of payment accepted by LCHA.
    • Checks are to be made payable to The Lake County Housing Authority

Landlords can receive up to a 19% reduction in the Equalized Assessed Value (EAV) of the property depending on the number of qualified units. Qualified units are limited to two units or 20% of total units in building, whichever is greater.

For any questions or concerns please contact:

Elena Lara
(847) 223-1170 extension 2730

The deadline to submit an application was November 30, 2023.