HOUSING AUTHORITY

Lake County Housing Authority

Board of Commissioners

Chairman Dr. H. Lee Jordan, Jr. Vice Chairman John Idleburg Commissioner Kevin Considine Commissioner Beverly Mull Commissioner Diana O'Kelly Commissioner Curtis Robinson Commissioner Vacant

LCHA Staff

Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer Lorraine Hocker
Deputy Director Ofelia Navarro
Chief Financial Officer Khadija Darr
Director of Asset Management Keon Jackson
Director of Housing Choice Voucher Gilma Beachem
Director of Information Technology Jeff Zimmermann
Director of Human Resources Lefran Elgezdi
Director of Compliance Jennifer Clemons-Ferguson

The Authority was established in 1946 at the initiative of the Lake County Board. In that year the County Board approved a resolution calling upon the State of Illinois to authorize establishment of a county housing authority.

The State Housing Board, in turn, authorized the appointment of five Commissioners who then organized the Lake County Housing Authority and served as its first Board of Commissioners. In 1991 the County's population exceeded 500,000 requiring the addition of two more Commissioners.

The Commissioners hold regular monthly meetings and convene for special meetings as necessary in order to deal with policy, budget, and contract matters. Day-to-day operations of the Authority's several programs are carried out by a staff of 59 employees.

The Lake County Housing Authority is a non-taxing unit of local government; it depends on rents from Authority owned housing, administration and service fees, grants, and federal subsidies to fund its programs and cover administrative costs. The major sources of funding are long term contracts with the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

The Authority's area of jurisdiction includes all unincorporated areas of Lake County and incorporated areas which do not have a municipal authority. The Cities of Waukegan and North Chicago have housing authorities. The Lake County Housing Authority, however, did operate a Low Rent Housing Development, the Marion Jones Townhomes, in North Chicago which was built before the establishment of the North Chicago Housing Authority.

Lake County Housing Authority provides rent opportunities and assistance for over 3,320 individuals and families residing in Lake County, Illinois. LCHA is the largest of the three housing authorities servicing the county by supporting the housing of over 11,000 individuals. In fiscal year 2018, LCHA's operating budget was \$33,930,953.

The LCHA Low Rent Public Housing Program owns and operates 7 buildings totaling 334 units of housing developed for seniors (aged 55 & older). It also is redeveloping a 125-unit town home development in North Chicago (formerly known as Marion Jones). It further owns and operates 161 single-family homes scattered throughout Lake County.

The LCHA Housing Choice Voucher Program provides rent assistance in privately owned rental units for low income individuals and families. Federal funding allows LCHA to assist 3,076 individuals and families with Housing Choice Vouchers.

Individuals/families in the Low Rent Public Housing and Housing Choice Voucher programs pay at least 30% of their household income for rent. The difference is subsidized by the Federal Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).